Danielle Capalbo’s Blog

Mapping it out

Posted in Maps by Quiet Giant on April 30, 2009

It’s impossible to count the number of times I’ve said “Egypt,” “Syria” and “Qatar,” in any combination, since the beginning of the year – when taking this trip became a reality. But it would be a pretty big number.

By repeating those country names and reeling off dates, plus planning excessively, I may have anesthetized myself to the fact that, in two days, at 4:30 p.m.,* I’ll actually be on a plane, bound for Somewhere Else. Somewhere Far Away.

So, I made this map.

My motivation was two-pronged:   family members and friends can use the map to gauge the distance between each of our travel points, and perhaps zoom in for a basic sense of how our trip will look. And I can consult the map, over and over, to try and wrap my head around this journey before it’s time to go.

*More comforting numbers.

Tagged with: , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. seanleviashvili said, on April 30, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    I love the map you made!!

  2. andreacampb said, on May 1, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    Thank you for making the map! So helpful.


Leave a Reply

