Danielle Capalbo’s Blog

Egyptian ink

Posted in Profiles by Quiet Giant on May 6, 2009

Islam is predicated on modesty, from the architecture of its mosques to conservative conventions of dress that sometimes require women to expose nothing but their eyes. So it follows to reason that Islam and tattoos wouldn’t mix.

Over beers and Shisha tonight, Karim, the 22-year-old son of our tour guide, said ink is Haram since the body belongs to Allaah. Henna passes muster, but with any permanent change to the landscape of your body – even for the sake of  art – you change his vision and his creation. Ninety percent of Egyptians are Muslim, but Karim said there is one tattoo artist in the whole country. He’s American, too.

Naturally, I asked if Karim would take us to his parlor. He said yes, and I’m already fantasizing about the narrative profile I could write.

Tagged with:

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nancy Giordano said, on May 6, 2009 at 2:23 am

    Danielle,

    I wish I were there (my first thought). My second thought is I can’t believe the pics as well the narrative. I am very proud of you and via your travels I will become educated on this culture (which by the way I can truly compare to nanny’s theory on the moon, hehehhe). Please stay safe and keep blogging! I love you, and (my third thought) I can’t wait to share your blog with Poppie and try my damnedest to explain this all to Nanny.. <3

  2. Matt said, on May 6, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    I am so jealous of your trip. I cannot wait to read your profiles.

  3. maggie said, on May 6, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    !!!

    i hope you do get to go. i’m living vicariously through your potential post.

  4. Nate Owen said, on May 6, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    Over beers. I like it. Seriously, how is the trip so far?
    -Nate


Leave a Reply

