Danielle Capalbo’s Blog

Everyday inequality

Posted in Cultural differences by Quiet Giant on May 17, 2009

Egypt is pretty complex. You know, like every other country on the planet. I needlessly make that point on a regular basis, but there’s a little pressure to understand how I feel about Cairo, and it’s going to take a while. Because, on one hand, it’s rich with some of the warmest, most generous people I’ve met.

On the other hand, it’s impoverished by bogus, systemic flaws.

Like when the managers at GOAL make Karim pay a 20-pound minimum just to SIT here, in the glorified company of American tourists, because he’s Egyptian.

“At this point, you have more rights here than I do,” Karim said on the walk home.

I can’t imagine how I’d feel if my country looked past me like that, or through me. Or worse: directly at me, then decided I don’t deserve as much as a stranger.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sandy Raymond said, on May 17, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    I can’t even begin to imagine that kind of injustice or how that must make Karim feel or any of the Egyptians for that matter.

    Sandy

  2. Carlo said, on May 17, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    It brings up the age-old question: Is a little bit of something better than nothing at all ? On one hand someone says to you “yes, we acknowledge you, and here’s something for your troubles” but the portion is so small it might as well be a slap in the face. Maybe it’s better that a government is more honest with it’s people, and it basically says to them “yeah we know you’re there, but we don’t have time for you”. A government shouldn’t be there to hold your hand though, it should be there to step in if local government aren’t functioning properly. And only certain universal things should be taken care of by government (health care being one), but even still I believe that should be on a state-by-state basis.

    Anyway, I’m rambling.
    I miss you !


Leave a Reply

